wind turbines

Cumbria Wind Energy Supplementary Planning Document (SPD)

Cumbria County Council and the local planning authorities in Allerdale, Carlisle, Copeland, Eden, South Lakeland and the Lake District National Park have produced and adopted guidance to help decide where wind farms might be built.  This supports saved local plan policies and policies in Local Development Frameworks.  This is available to download below.

Why do we need guidance on wind farms?

Wind farms are becoming part of our landscape. Their numbers across Cumbria and the country have grown substantially over the last ten years.  As the Government wants the UK to generate more of its energy from renewable sources, to help reduce carbon dioxide emissions and combat climate change, the trend is likely to continue.

How has the guidance been produced?

The guidance was produced using expert advice and comments received following public consultation in Autumn 2006.  We had a very positive response from consulting with others.  529 issues were raised by 151 organisations and individuals.  The comments we received and the resulting changes made to the guidance are summarised in the Statement of Consultation Responses document that can be downloaded below.

The guidance helps developers, councils and communities understand the environmental and socio-economic issues that need to be addressed for wind energy schemes.  It also provides detailed advice on landscape issues.

Where is the Guidance available?

The Guidance can be downloaded below, along with its associated consultation and other documents.

If you would like to purchase a copy of the Cumbria Wind Energy Supplementary Planning Document ( £15.00) or the associated documents comprising the Statement of Consultation Responses, Habitats Regulations Assessment and Sustainability Appraisal ( £7.50) please send a cheque made payable to Cumbria County Council to Hazel Hayton Swindle, County Offices, Kendal, LA9 4RQ.

Hard copies of the document are available to view in all Cumbrian libraries and the main offices of the Local Planning Authorities.